Home Tourism

List of members of the European Parliament for the United Kingdom, 1979–84

List of members of the European Parliament for the United Kingdom, 1979–84Description : Legislation Page:l806

Members of the
European Parliament
for the United Kingdom
1st term(1979)
2nd term(1984)
3rd term(1989)
4th term(1994)
5th term(1999)
6th term(2004)
7th term(2009)
8th term(2014)
  • v
  • t
  • e
Part of a series of articles on the
United Kingdom
in the
European Union
UK location in the EU 2016.svg
  • 1973 EC enlargement
  • 1975 Referendum Act
  • 1975 EC membership referendum
  • 1972 EC Act
  • UK rebate
  • 2011 EU Act

  • Brand EU
  • EU Three
  • The euro
  • European Movement UK
  • Nationality law
  • UK Euroscepticism

  • Officials and bodies
  • EU Committee
  • European Scrutiny Committee
  • Northern Ireland Executive in Brussels
  • EU Representative in London
  • Young European Movement UK
  • UK European Commissioners
  • Permanent EU Representatives
  • EP members by term
    • 1973 delegation
    • 1st
    • 2nd
    • 3rd
    • 4th
    • 5th
    • 6th
    • 7th
    • 8th


  • 1972 EC Act
  • 1986 EC (Amendment) Act
  • 2001 EC (Finance) Act
  • European Constitution referendum
  • 2008 EC (Finance) Act
  • 2003 EU (Accessions) Act
  • 2006 EU (Accessions) Act
  • 2008 EU (Amendment) Act
  • 2011 EU Act

  • 2013–14 EU (Referendum) Bill
  • 2015 EU Referendum Act
  • 2016 EU (Referendum) Act (Gibraltar)
  • 2016 EU membership renegotiation

  • 2016 EU membership referendum
  • Endorsements
  • Issues
  • Opinion polling

  • Campaigns
  • Leave
  • Better Off Out
  • Grassroots Out
  • Leave.EU
    • Bpoplive
  • Vote Leave
    • Business for Britain
    • Conservatives for Britain
    • Labour Leave
    • Students for Britain
  • Remain
  • Britain in Europe
  • British Influence
    • Nucleus
  • Britain Stronger in Europe
  • Business for New Europe
  • Labour for a Referendum
  • Labour In for Britain
  • New Europeans
  • Project Fear
  • Media coverage
  • Brexit: The Movie
  • In or Out

  • Aftermath
  • Results
  • International reactions
  • 2016 Conservative Party election
  • 2016 Labour Party election
  • Scottish secessionism
    • 2nd referendum
  • Irish unification movement
  • London secessionism
  • The New European
  • More United
  • Change Britain

  • Negotiations
  • Article 50
  • Department for Exiting the EU
    • Secretary of State
  • Department for International Trade
    • Secretary of State
  • v
  • t
  • e


NameNational partyEP GroupConstituency
Gordon Adam     Labour Party     SOCNorthumbria
Richard Balfe     Labour Party     SOCLondon South Inner
Neil Balfour     Conservative Party     EDYorkshire North
Robert Battersby     Conservative Party     EDHumberside
Peter Beazley     Conservative Party     EDBedfordshire South
Lord Bethell     Conservative Party     EDLondon North West
Roland Boyes     Labour Party     SOCDurham
Beata Brookes     Conservative Party     EDWales North
Janey Buchan     Labour Party     SOCGlasgow
Richard Caborn     Labour Party     SOCSheffield
Barbara Castle     Labour Party     SOCGreater Manchester North
Frederick Catherwood     Conservative Party     EDCambridgeshire
Ann Clwyd     Labour Party     SOCWales Mid & West
Ken Collins     Labour Party     SOCStrathclyde East
Richard Cottrell     Conservative Party     EDBristol
David Curry     Conservative Party     EDEssex North East
Ian Dalziel     Conservative Party     EDLothians
John de Courcy Ling     Conservative Party     EDMidlands Central
Basil de Ferranti     Conservative Party     EDHampshire West
Marquess of Douro     Conservative Party     EDSurrey
Baroness Elles     Conservative Party     EDThames Valley
Derek Enright     Labour Party     SOCLeeds
Winifred Ewing     Scottish National Party     EPDHighlands and Islands
Adam Fergusson     Conservative Party     EDStrathclyde West
Norvela Forster     Conservative Party     EDBirmingham South
Eric Forth     Conservative Party     EDBirmingham North
Michael Gallagher     Labour Party /      SDP (Jan 1984)     SOCNottingham
Win Griffiths     Labour Party     SOCWales South
Lord Harmar-Nicholls     Conservative Party     EDGreater Manchester South
David Harris     Conservative Party     EDCornwall & Plymouth
Gloria Hooper     Conservative Party     EDLiverpool
William Hopper     Conservative Party     EDGreater Manchester West
Brian Hord     Conservative Party     EDLondon West
Paul Howell     Conservative Party     EDNorfolk
John Hume     Social Democratic and Labour Party     SOCNorthern Ireland
Alasdair Hutton     Conservative Party     EDSouth of Scotland
Christopher Jackson     Conservative Party     EDKent East
Robert V. Jackson     Conservative Party     EDUpper Thames
Stanley Johnson     Conservative Party     EDWight & Hampshire East
Edward Kellett-Bowman     Conservative Party     EDLancashire East
Elaine Kellett-Bowman     Conservative Party     EDCumbria
Brian Key     Labour Party     SOCYorkshire South
Alfred Lomas     Labour Party     SOCLondon North East
John Marshall     Conservative Party     EDLondon North
Thomas Megahy     Labour Party     SOCYorkshire South West
James Moorhouse     ED     EDLondon South
Robert Moreland     Conservative Party     EDStaffordshire East
Bill Newton Dunn     Conservative Party     EDLincolnshire
Sir David Nicolson     Conservative Party     EDLondon Central
Tom Normanton     Conservative Party     EDCheshire East
Lord O'Hagan     Conservative Party     EDDevon
Ian Paisley     Democratic Unionist Party     NINorthern Ireland
Ben Patterson     Conservative Party     EDKent West
Andrew Pearce     Conservative Party     EDCheshire West
Henry Plumb     Conservative Party     EDCotswolds
Derek Prag     Conservative Party     EDHertfordshire
Peter Price     Conservative Party     EDLancashire West
Christopher Prout     Conservative Party     EDSalop and Stafford
James Provan     Conservative Party     EDNorth East Scotland
John Purvis     Conservative Party     EDMid Scotland and Fife
Joyce Quin     Labour Party     SOCTyne South and Wear
Brandon Rhys-Williams     Conservative Party     EDLondon South East
Shelagh Roberts     Conservative Party     EDLondon South West
Allan Rogers     Labour Party     SOCWales South East
James Scott-Hopkins     Conservative Party     EDHereford & Worcester
Barry Seal     Labour Party     SOCYorkshire West
Madron Seligman     Conservative Party     EDSussex West
Dr. Alexander Sherlock     Conservative Party     EDEssex South West
Richard Simmonds     Conservative Party     EDMidlands West
Anthony Simpson     Conservative Party     EDNorthamptonshire
Tom Spencer     Conservative Party     EDDerbyshire
James Spicer     Conservative Party     EDWessex
Jack Stewart-Clark     Conservative Party     EDSussex East
John Taylor     Ulster Unionist Party     EDNorthern Ireland
John Taylor     Conservative Party     EDMidlands East
Frederick Tuckman     Conservative Party     EDLeicester
Amédée Turner     Conservative Party     EDSuffolk
Alan Tyrrell     Conservative Party     EDLondon East
Peter Vanneck     Conservative Party     EDCleveland
Frederick Warner     Conservative Party     EDSomerset
Michael Welsh     Conservative Party     EDLancashire Central



  • 20 September: London, South West—The Home Secretary announced on 11 July 1979 that Shelagh Roberts was disqualified from election due to her membership of the Occupational Pensions Board, which was an 'office of profit under the Crown'. She resigned from the board and was re-elected at the by-election.

Change of allegiance

  • Michael Gallagher announced on 5 January 1984 that he had joined the Social Democratic Party.
Copyright 2008-2017 www.21pw.com